The Works 4 is divided into twenty-six alphabetical sections featuring poems about:


The ark and other creatures, boys' stuff, celebrations and festivals, dinosaurs, dragons and dodos, elements, seasons and the natural world, friends and families, girls' stuff, home life, impossible and incredible, journeys, kissing and other things best avoided, love, death, war and peace, monsters, ghosts and ghouls, nonsense, ourselves and others, people and places, queens, kings and historical stuff, rescuing the world, senses and feeling, teachers, unpleasant things, viewpoint, wonder, x-words and wordplay, young and old, and zapping aliens.


It also contains a glossary of terms - including explanations of different poetic forms - and lesson ideas.

The Works 4

  • Chosen by Pie Corbett and Gaby Morgan

    Published by Macmillan Children's Books 2015

    Previous edition 2005

    ISBN: 9781447286875

    568 pages


© 2020 by Talk for Writing